Donate Bitcoin

Donate Paypal

PeakOil is You

PeakOil is You

Solar Water Distillers

Discussions of conventional and alternative energy production technologies.

Solar Water Distillers

Unread postby PeakOiler » Mon 26 Jun 2006, 19:11:34

I'm not spamming the board ya'll, but I thought some readers might miss the reply I made in a current post on this forum, and since I thought this topic may be of interest to people like Matt Savinar, (since he's getting into selling solar products,) I wanted to post the message again.

I've been using one of SolAqua's solar water distillers for nearly four years now for about 99% of my drinking and cooking needs. I began distilling the city utility water, but the utility water is so hard, I was constantly needing to clean the calcium carbonate (limestone) out of the basin.
So now I only distill naturally soft rainwater. There's no oil-based organics in rainwater either, (or at trace levels only, less than what leaches from plastic bottled water.)

Here's a few interesting excerpts from SolAqua:

"The basic principles of solar water distillation are simple yet effective, as distillation replicates the way nature makes rain. The sun's energy heats water to the point of evaporation. As the water evaporates, water vapor rises, condensing on the glass surface for collection. This process removes impurities such as salts and heavy metals as well as eliminates microbiological organisms. The end result is water cleaner than the purest rainwater. The SolAqua still is a passive solar distiller that only needs sunshine to operate. There are no moving parts to wear out."