Donate Bitcoin

Donate Paypal

PeakOil is You

PeakOil is You

Reduction in Grocery Bags Good or Bad???

How to save energy through both societal and individual actions.

Reduction in Grocery Bags Good or Bad???

Unread postby rawdealmonty » Thu 26 Jun 2008, 11:32:36

Good or Bad is, of course, relative. I'm new to this; I've spent the last few weeks reading about recycling, reducing, and the many, many uses of crude oil. Maybe you can shed some light for me as I am no chemist...

Crude oil is extracted and refined. Naphtha is a result of the refining process. Naphtha is used to produce ethane, which is subsequently used to produce ethylene, and from ethylene- polyethylene, from which plastic bags derive. Sounds like the Old Testament.

Before discovering this I was under the basic impression- plastic comes from oil. Therefore, a reduction of plastic demand/production would result in more available oil for other uses- like gas for my car. My question is, is Naphtha an absolute product of the refining process? Can it be sacrificed at the refinery for an increase in petroleum gas production?

If not, unfortunately, I will be disappointed to realize that, although beneficial to the environment, a moratorium on plastic grocery bags would actually result in an increase in prices at the pumps. My understanding- no more plastic bags, demand for petrochemicals goes down, demand for Naphtha goes down, refineries make less on sale of Naphtha, price of petroleum gas goes up to offset the loss on Naphtha sales. Does this make sense? Please help!
rawdealmonty
Wood
Wood

Re: Reduction in Grocery Bags Good or Bad???

Unread postby Cashmere » Thu 26 Jun 2008, 11:45:34

No, it makes no sense.

Welcome to PO.com.

Plastic bags are spit in a bucket - forget about plastic bags.

Think liquid fuel - diesel, gas, jet fuel, avgas, and so on.

By the way, my understanding is that the usual process is to take ethane from natural gas or from oil processing and process it into plastic.