Donate Bitcoin

Donate Paypal

PeakOil is You

PeakOil is You

List of oil intensitive products?

General discussions of the systemic, societal and civilisational effects of depletion.

List of oil intensitive products?

Unread postby Pfish » Sun 09 Jan 2005, 10:41:17

Newbie here.

Does anybody know where to find a list of products that are a made directly or indirectly from oil? I.E. it takes X amount of barrels of oil to produce Z. As a consumer it would be interesting to see how it affects the wallet as the price of oil climbs.

Pfish
Pfish
Peat
Peat

Re: List of oil intensitive products?

Unread postby spot5050 » Sun 09 Jan 2005, 13:24:15

Pfish wrote:Newbie here.

Does anybody know where to find a list of products that are a made directly or indirectly from oil?

I can't think of any products that don't have any oil in them either directly or indirectly. Can you?

I've just had a quick look round my house and I didn't find anything.

Pfish wrote:I.E. it takes X amount of barrels of oil to produce Z. As a consumer it would be interesting to see how it affects the wallet as the price of oil climbs.

An 'oil component' index of various products or even services or businesses would be very interesting. I have no idea how one would go about calculating such a thing tho.
spot5050
Tar Sands
Tar Sands

Unread postby eastbay » Sun 09 Jan 2005, 15:03:42

It might be easier to make a list of products and goods that are NOT made of oil.

The only ones I could find in my house are some winter mandarin oranges a neighbor gave us a few days ago.

100% cotton clothes are harvested/manufactured/shipped and delivered by fuel burning equipment. They shouldn't count.

I drove to get the mandarins... :cry:

EastBay
eastbay
Expert
Expert

Unread postby Eteonian » Sun 09 Jan 2005, 18:39:33