Donate Bitcoin

Donate Paypal

PeakOil is You

PeakOil is You

oil or gas

Say hello, learn how to register, read the rules, get staff announcements.

oil or gas

Unread postby 27010 » Sat 17 Dec 2005, 19:55:36

When I first stumbled on this site it was because I was wondering if the worlds gas supply was running out. I studied pages upon pages of postings and the general conensus was that oil would go long before gas, which had a good few years yet. Here we are about a year later and its turned full circle, the gas crisis is here, oil has a few years.

Whats the truth, or is this a roundabout we are all on cos we seem to be going in circles?
Peat
Peat

Re: oil or gas

Unread postby Eddie_lomax » Sat 17 Dec 2005, 20:47:35

27010 wrote:When I first stumbled on this site it was because I was wondering if the worlds gas supply was running out. I studied pages upon pages of postings and the general conensus was that oil would go long before gas, which had a good few years yet. Here we are about a year later and its turned full circle, the gas crisis is here, oil has a few years.

Whats the truth, or is this a roundabout we are all on cos we seem to be going in circles?

I wonder the same thing, in the UK our gas supply has peaked a full year earlier then the experts expected it to. While I do not expect it to run out tommorow it does seem to be running out faster then anyone expects, although the world does seem to have plenty of it - all in Russia.

It just doesn't seem credible to me that both the UK and US (and every other country wanting gas) will be laying down a pipeline to Russia, surely they will want to conserve their supplies too ?
Eddie_lomax
Peat
Peat

Unread postby MonteQuest » Sat 17 Dec 2005, 21:02:44