Donate Bitcoin

Donate Paypal

PeakOil is You

PeakOil is You

Do oil supply projections take souring into account?

Discuss research and forecasts regarding hydrocarbon depletion.

Do oil supply projections take souring into account?

Unread postby Ketzl » Tue 18 Oct 2005, 12:20:20

Hi! I'm a newbie so please pardon me if this has been hashed and rehashed. I'm trying to learn about the peak oil debate, and it seems to me that there's a huge range of projections of the world's recoverable oil reserves, from people who believe we've hit peak already and it's all depletion here on out, to those crazy abiotic oil people who seem to believe the planet magically generates fuel. But the most common projections I've seen say we'll hit peak later on, like in 10 or 20 or 30 years by which time we'll have switched to a Energy Source To Be Named Later because of market forces.

Also, almost everyone also seems to agree we've run out of the cheap and easily-extracted oil except possibly in Saudi Arabia, that refineries are running at capacity right now and take a long time to build, and that the oil coming out of the ground is increasingly sour and requires more refining and more expensive refineries to do it.

I look oil supply projection graphs like this one from the EIA (conveniently their projection stops at 2025, when they're projecting peak oil) and wonder, how does souring figure into the picture?