Donate Bitcoin

Donate Paypal

PeakOil is You

PeakOil is You

New Zealand discussion (Merged) pt. 3

A forum for discussion of regional topics including oil depletion but also government, society, and the future.

Re: Capping a major oil leak off NZ coast could take 14 days

Unread postby ROCKMAN » Tue 29 Oct 2013, 13:39:10

Timo - Are you referring to risk management? Unfortunately folks can develop a false sense of low/no risk by focusing on technology and complex regs. In my 38 years rarely has tech failure caused a major problem. It invariably resulted from someone making a bad decision.
ROCKMAN
Expert
Expert

Unread postby Timo » Tue 29 Oct 2013, 13:46:14

RMA is the Resource Management Act. I spent a few months studying this in a self-taught fashion, so i certainly can't claim to be any authority on the Act, but basically it requires all development in NZ to have a minimal or neutral econological impact on the greater ecosystem. That's my understanding of it, but that may not actually be correct. Graeme or Kiwichick should have a better explanation.
Timo

Unread postby John_A » Tue 29 Oct 2013, 15:26:43

ROCKMAN wrote:Timo - Are you referring to risk management? Unfortunately folks can develop a false sense of low/no risk by focusing on technology and complex regs. In my 38 years rarely has tech failure caused a major problem. It invariably resulted from someone making a bad decision.

Or something breaks. Drill line for example (traveling block landed on a floor hand). Broken kelly hose? Flailing end went through the window on the MWD shack before the pumps could be cut and catapulted the guy inside against the far side of the shack, crippling him. Derrick hand couldn't gather up the top of the triple being set back in the board, that drill pipe flexed and BOUNCED inside the derrick...amazing thing to watch...until it landed on the foot of a guy on the floor.