Donate Bitcoin

Donate Paypal

PeakOil is You

PeakOil is You

Just my .02 from my experience in the energy industry

Discussions of conventional and alternative energy production technologies.

Just my .02 from my experience in the energy industry

Unread postby J-Rod » Wed 04 Jan 2006, 21:16:07

I'm a PC tech these days, but I had a 2 year stint as a non-destructive engineer, doing materials testing on stuff like paper mills and power boilers, and just about anything with pressure. Most of the time it involved x-rays, magnetic particle testing and a lot of ultrasonic thickness testing. After getting up close and personal with how a power boiler works, you get a new appreciation for energy, and what kinds of things operators wrangle with.

Most of the ones I had seen were coal fired plants. There was an interesting one near Orlando however, that burned mainly swamp and landfill gas. The idea was it would save money, and generate power from useless waste. The main problem however was the nasty wear and emissions they had to deal with. Those boiler walls eroded in strange patterns, and experienced different caustic issues. Not to mention the scrubbers that were used for emissions cost them a bundle. I wonder if they really saved money at all.

Most plant managers were complaining about the high cost of the mandatory scrubbers that are to be in place because of the clean air act. They would just love for someone to repeal that, so they could get away with the cost issues of scrubbers, and the additional maintenance and testing they required.

It was pretty amazing to stand inside a 12 story firebox, surrounded by walls of nothing but small tubing that carried the water to be turned into steam. Natural gas plants are of course much cleaner, but still require maintenance.