Donate Bitcoin

Donate Paypal

PeakOil is You

PeakOil is You

Focus on the "3rd world" - the peak is global

For discussions of events and conditions not necessarily related to Peak Oil.

Focus on the "3rd world" - the peak is global

Unread postby ekaggata » Sun 30 Apr 2006, 21:41:24

Hello, newbie here.
I've been reading a great deal on this website, it's an invaluable resource.

I'm looking for more information about what's happening in poor countries.
It's my belief that peak oil effects are already being felt directly in many poorer countries in Asia, Africa for example. There is a thread on this page that refers to Thailand which I will look into.
But there is a big focus here (quite naturally) on events in the US and to a lesser extent EU, Aus etc.

I see a danger that we may actually miss the real news because in this intervening period of inexorable rise in crude prices there will be a vastly greater effect on poorer people and countries. And I'm finding it difficult to get reports on this.

So this is an appeal for people to dredge up whatever they can on what's going on outside the "West" and post it here.

Thanks!

A little contribution from me: living here in Guangzhou, southern China, you would never guess there was any such thing as peak oil. The economy is continuing to boom, for now at least. I have only seen two signs (small) of things changing - firstly a taxi fare surcharge for fuel was introduced last September, and also around that time there were apparently gas lines (petrol queues BrE). As I understand it, the government does not allow the market to set the price of gasoline directly here.
I could also mention waves of blackouts/brownouts regularly in many coastal/ high population areas over the last few years.
ekaggata
Peat
Peat

Re: Focus on the "3rd world" - the peak is global

Unread postby cudabachi » Sun 30 Apr 2006, 21:57:03