Donate Bitcoin

Donate Paypal

PeakOil is You

PeakOil is You

THE Motorcycle, Moped and Electric Bike Thread (merged)

How to save energy through both societal and individual actions.

Re: Who needs a truck in Vietnam?

Unread postby FreakOil » Wed 23 May 2007, 15:14:09

FreakOil wrote:
I see this stuff all the time in Guangdong province, China. I once saw a guy transporting at least three dozen live chickens in cages on a motorcylce on a busy highway during rush hour. You wouldn't believe the crap I've seen on rural roads in India. You folks in the developed world are missing out on some great entertainment.

What are you doing in China? I taught English in Guangdong (Zhuhai) for three years.

Hello Newseeker. I work as a freelance marketing consultant, copywriter and writer. I'm studying Chinese intensively with the goal of getting back into journalism. Zhuhai seems nice, but I don't know it very well. I just went there for a few hours once for a conference. I did a few part-time teaching gigs after I got fcuked over by a trading company that I later found out was run by a former diamond smuggler who was wanted in a few dozen countries. Just another run-of-the-mill foreigner-in-China story.
FreakOil
Coal
Coal

Unread postby cube » Wed 23 May 2007, 17:48:11

FreakOil wrote:...I did a few part-time teaching gigs after I got fcuked over by a trading company that I later found out was run by a former diamond smuggler who was wanted in a few dozen countries. Just another run-of-the-mill foreigner-in-China story.
I hear that foreigners have much to learn about how things are done "differently" in China. *delicate cough*

Getting a bit off-topic.....There's no shortage of western companies who got the shaft pretty hard thinking they could open up shop in China and sell to 1 billion customers. The most successful consumer product westerners ever sold to the Chinese was opium *sad but true*

anyways back on topic: