Donate Bitcoin

Donate Paypal

PeakOil is You

PeakOil is You

responding now?

General discussions of the systemic, societal and civilisational effects of depletion.

responding now?

Unread postby liquid » Fri 03 Dec 2004, 15:06:57

I'll admit to being a newcomer to this idea of peak oil. I have very little in the way of knowledge about it, or the mechanisms and models through which it will work. Here are some questions I have if you dont mind:

1) If this were all going to pan out in the next 5 years, would policy changes not already be hitting the table? Would we not be seing fluctuations in the markets, and serious movement by Oil companies?

2) Do you really think the change will be such a drastic one? It doesn't seem plausible that we go from basically "unlimited" oil, to basically no oil within a matter of 5 years.

With that said, I do believe that PO will have a massive impact on our lives. Is there any way we can respond now, and be on the right end of the table when this happens? Everyone seems to say it would be a good idea to hedge the markets and so forth. If post WWI Germany taught us anything it's that money will be of no value anyhow.
liquid
Wood
Wood

Unread postby kambei » Fri 03 Dec 2004, 15:48:36

1) If this were all going to pan out in the next 5 years, would policy changes not already be hitting the table? Would we not be seing fluctuations in the markets, and serious movement by Oil companies?

What politician is going to come out and say "The world as you know it is about to come to an end. All the prosperity you have known is going to be no more" ? I don't think he'd get much support.
It's a similar thing with the markets. Unless you have good news, they don't want to know. It's all in the far future anyway (a few years is pretty distant for the markets and politics). Plus, many people are sceptical about the whole peak oil theory.