Donate Bitcoin

Donate Paypal

PeakOil is You

PeakOil is You

Peak Nonsense

General discussions of the systemic, societal and civilisational effects of depletion.

Re: Peak Nonsense

Unread postby mkwin » Wed 06 Jun 2007, 15:18:09

threadbear wrote:
mkwin wrote:
Smudger wrote:[
Don't patronise me - I've a degree in economics and masters degree in real estate analysis and forecasting. I work as a real market analyst in the London. Believe me, I know how important oil is and what damage is has and will do to economies around the world.

What's a real market analyst?.....

Typo - real estate market analyst. Basically advise the property industry on investment and development opportunities in real estate markets by analysing macro-economic trends and the local situation. Funnily enough my firm doesn't factor in the immanent global depression into its models!!

In a nutshell, what issue stands out in your mind as the most prominent one that will plunge us into a depression?

A historic period of low inflation - due to the deflationary effect of globalisation - has lead to asset bubbles in almost everything.

The short to medium term cause of oil depletion will be inflation. This will represent a structural change in the economy pushing up interest rates and causing almost all asset classes -bonds, shares, real estate - to fall significantly. The only exceptions in my opinion will be inflation linked bonds, gold/silver, oil industry shares (majors and service companies) and possibly, dependant on the governmental response, infrastructural contactors. These would be good investment choices if you have any savings. Leaving your savings in the bank will destroy their value due to inflation.

Obviously, there will be widespread job losses in many other sectors and significantly reduced consumption all leading to an economic depression.
Last edited by mkwin on Wed 06 Jun 2007, 15:42:59, edited 1 time in total.
mkwin
Tar Sands
Tar Sands