Donate Bitcoin

Donate Paypal

PeakOil is You

PeakOil is You

Heat pump water heater and temp-shifting

A forum for discussion of regional topics including oil depletion but also government, society, and the future.

Heat pump water heater and temp-shifting

Unread postby Ayoob » Fri 20 Nov 2015, 05:09:57

I saw something about these water heaters that made me think of a friend of mine. They work on the same principle as a air conditioner heat pump. Suck the heat out of the surrounding air and put it into something else. If you could suck the heat out of an overheated house all day long and use it to raise the temp of 80 gallons of water, it would be pretty fucking hot by nighttime. Feed that water through a copper coil zip tied to the face of one of those big stainless steel three-legged fans that move huge amounts of air. That plus a thermostat to measure how much heat is left in the reservoir vs how much you need to maintain current temperature.

I'm not an engineer, but that just sounds like an interesting challenge to me.

Would there be a way to use the hot water to create electricity to be used for recharging batteries or something? Sell the power back to the grid?
Ayoob
Expert
Expert

Re: Heat pump water heater and temp-shifting

Unread postby Tanada » Fri 20 Nov 2015, 09:31:01

Ayoob wrote:I saw something about these water heaters that made me think of a friend of mine. They work on the same principle as a air conditioner heat pump. Suck the heat out of the surrounding air and put it into something else. If you could suck the heat out of an overheated house all day long and use it to raise the temp of 80 gallons of water, it would be pretty fucking hot by nighttime. Feed that water through a copper coil zip tied to the face of one of those big stainless steel three-legged fans that move huge amounts of air. That plus a thermostat to measure how much heat is left in the reservoir vs how much you need to maintain current temperature.