Donate Bitcoin

Donate Paypal

PeakOil is You

PeakOil is You

THE Jevons Paradox Thread Pt. 2

Discuss research and forecasts regarding hydrocarbon depletion.

Re: Jevons Paradox - Death by conservation

Unread postby VMarcHart » Mon 26 May 2008, 12:44:22

Greetings! Newbie, here.

So many forums and topics. I don't know exactly where I belong. I'm big in conservation and this is the most popular topic. So I felt this was a good place to introduce myself. Feel free to bounce me to the right spot.

I'm a 14-yr veteran of the energy industry, of which, the last 4 1/2 in wind power development. I delivered 380 MWs of wind power, and just took a job with a fossil-fuel power developer. It will be interesting to be the sole treehugger.

Like I said, I'm big in conservation. Our electric consumption last month was 186kWh, we own one (small) car, walk to work, recycle to death, etc. I drive my wife up the wall. Death by conservation? Totally!

My best friend didn't complete high-school. His friends are at about his level of formal education. I asked at what $/gallon his friends would radically start conserving gasoline. He said $20/gallon. Simply put, the elite --myself and my peers-- is showing very little by example, and the people aspire to become the elite. Of course, gasoline is one of the dozens of resources being consumed at "there is no tomorrow" pace, but, at $4/gallon, it makes it a good topic to pick on.

I'm an economist and subscribe to Jevons. The compact fluorescent light bulb, the hybrid car, the hydrogen car, etc, is a hoax just postponing the inevitable. An improved technology will only make us consume more of it. The same best friend switched his 200-W driveway bulb for a CFLB, so, as he said, "I can leave it running all night."

The concept of conversation is so skewed, it makes me laugh.

Please stay in touch. Happy Memorial Day!
VMarcHart
Heavy Crude
Heavy Crude

Unread postby jdumars » Mon 26 May 2008, 14:51:16