Donate Bitcoin

Donate Paypal

PeakOil is You

PeakOil is You

THE Dollar Crash Thread pt 2

For discussions of events and conditions not necessarily related to Peak Oil.

Re: The Dollar Crash Thread pt 2

Unread postby AgentR11 » Thu 04 Aug 2011, 14:38:43

americandream wrote:I day trade for a living. It's a job like any job.

If no one traded, read 10K's and Balance Sheets, or paid attention to who was sitting on what board and what they were up to; imagine the depths of corruption those guys could get away with! Definitely a job.

I don't much care for the short term trading profession, gives me ulcers; but hats off to those who can do it and relax enough to sleep later!

More a bargain hunter, medium term guy myself; I'm ok if I can tell myself not to look for six months...
Yes we are, as we are,
And so shall we remain,
Until the end.
AgentR11
Light Sweet Crude
Light Sweet Crude

Unread postby AgentR11 » Thu 04 Aug 2011, 14:48:21

prajeshbhat wrote:I appreciate that. There are a lot of bloodsuckers out there who expect to get paid just for sitting on gold. And the god bugs(return to the gold standard) will reward them.

Gold is not something to get paid for by sitting on. Its hard core defensive. I have some, if I ever sell, it won't be for profit; it'll be because things have gone belly-up, and I need a reset on the other side of hell. Banks are seeing this too; a whole bunch of currencies are on teeter-totters right now, pushing hard to stay low enough to encourage exports, dancing to stay strong enough to buy fuel; problem with pushing low is that x/y goes to infinity as y->0, and infinity in this case is very, very bad. Gold gives you a constant "value" that can reset your 'y' exposure, and move purchasing power to a different z until things settle.

People trading gold daily aren't really doing that game, but they do keep things liquid for holders.
Yes we are, as we are,
And so shall we remain,
Until the end.
AgentR11
Light Sweet Crude
Light Sweet Crude