Donate Bitcoin

Donate Paypal

PeakOil is You

PeakOil is You

Is "retro" technology a better investment?

Discussions about the economic and financial ramifications of PEAK OIL

Re: Is "retro" technology a better investment?

Unread postby GHung » Fri 10 Jun 2016, 15:20:25

PhebaAndThePilgrim wrote:Good day all:
I don't chime in much any more. Pilgrim and I stay very busy.
But on this subject I have some knowledge I would like to share.
Hoping this may come in useful for those seeking an older machine.
I am a sewing machine junkie. I have 7 machines.
At one time I had 17, but Pilgrim was threatening to sleep in machine shed because there was no room. So common sense had to prevail.
I love taking them apart, repairing, etc.
Is a retro machine better than a new one.
Well, the answer is like asking a farmer a question.
The answer will always be, "It all depends".
Depends on what you mean by "retro"
Depends on what you are going to use it for.
Depends on the brand.

There are four basic types of sewing machines.
Computer
Electronic
Mechanical
Manual.
Manual is a treadle or hand crank. If you can find a certain model, especially a Singer, is a great investment.
Singer model 15-88 is best, but should be a round bobbin, not what is known as flying shuttle or long bobbin. Bobbins and parts difficult to find and flying shuttle bobbins hold little thread.

Next are mechanical. Machines powered by electricity, but all knobs and controls are mechanical. These are the machines I adore and collect.
Berninas have the most punching power, mostly because of their DC motor, but have two nylon gears in most machines.
Parts for older Berninas are hard to find, but it can be done. They are worth the investment.
There is a reason for the nylon gears. They are quiet and they will break if something goes wrong rather than a more integral, expensive part of machine.