Donate Bitcoin

Donate Paypal

PeakOil is You

PeakOil is You

THE Saudi Arabia Thread pt 6

A forum for discussion of regional topics including oil depletion but also government, society, and the future.

Re: Saudi Arabia groundwater to run out in 13 years

Unread postby Shaved Monkey » Sun 21 Feb 2016, 18:54:12

AdamB wrote:Turning sea water into drinking water is economically viable. People are already doing it. So this one is a no brainer. Not a landlocked country? You win! Otherwise this entire "OMG THE WATER IS GOING AWAY!" is just trying to make a mountain out of a molehill.

All it needs is lots of power and an economy that can pay the power bill and the maintenance costs.
Ready to turn Zombies into WWOOFers
Shaved Monkey
Intermediate Crude
Intermediate Crude

Re: Saudi Arabia: Canary in the oil glut coal mine

Unread postby evilgenius » Tue 23 Feb 2016, 13:34:48

I work as an independent contractor in the US, alongside several Muslims from various countries. One of them, from Jordan, told me about a conspiracy theory the other day. He said that he believes that the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia is in cahoots with the US. They are trying to shipwreck the Russian economy. To be fair, at times he goes on like he believes this, and then at times he doesn't.

There appears to me to be a whole network of conspiracies at work in the Arabic speaking world. This is only one of them. He has mentioned others which, incidentally, run counter to this one. What I take away from this is that their conspiracy nutjobs are as crazy as our conspiracy nutjobs.

The danger of conspiratorial thinking is not that it might be true, though, but how it poisons people's capacity for rational thought. Pretty soon the truth sounds like nothing more than a competing story line to those who listen too closely. Then it really does become a matter of who does what for whom, and how recently they have done it.