Login

Peak Oil is You

Donate Bitcoins ;-) or Paypal :-)

The Post Peak Habitat / Doomstead pt 2 (merged)

If you are through speculating, this is the place to discuss actions you are taking.

Re: Doomstead possibilities

Unread postby Revi » Wed 30 Nov 2011, 13:47:52

I agree with Autonomous. I have several pieces of property I have been working on for the past 20 years or so. I have come to the conclusion that there are ways of making a doomstead like property work. I have come to believe in limiting access, building bulletproof walls and limiting the exposure from the street. Here is a good place to look for property in Maine:

http://www.tcreal.com/search/
Deep in the mud and slime of things, even there, something sings.
Revi
Fusion
Fusion

Unread postby Pops » Wed 30 Nov 2011, 15:25:18

Very good auto.

Nice grain bin.
Plans are nothing; planning is everything.
--Dwight Eisenhower

We don't see things like they are, we see them as we are.
--Anais Nin
Pops

Unread postby Revi » Sat 03 Dec 2011, 02:05:30

The way things are going it might not be a bad bet to have a place to run to. The world is getting crazier every day, and even if it doesn't go Mad Max it is nice to have a place to go to. I love the grain silo retreat Autonomous! Solar panels are amazing things. I think they may be one of those things to find in the next couple of years.
Revi
Fusion
Fusion

Unread postby Margarethe » Sun 04 Dec 2011, 09:06:09

It looks...homey!
I would want to live there, doomstead or no doomstead.
Nice shot of the place =)
Margarethe
Coal
Coal

Unread postby Pops » Sun 04 Dec 2011, 11:37:29

If a doomstead is a place to run to instead of a place to "live" I'm ambivalent. To be honest I've never like the term because instead of building a resilient lifestyle it implies that a person can simply stoke the remote bunker, continue on with BAU until the birdie keels then retreat to the undisclosed location and wait 'til the sheep all die.